Home Comics The 2023 Doug Wright Award Winners are!

The 2023 Doug Wright Award Winners are!

The 2023 Doug Wright Award Winners are!


That’s “Wright”, The Doug Wright Awards celebrating and honouring Canadian cartoonists had been offered on the Toronto Comedian Arts Competition (or extra generally referred to as TCAF) in Toronto on Saturday, April 29 2023. The present offered 4 awards and added a brand new inductee the Large of the North Corridor of Fame. 

This 12 months’s Giants of the North inductee is Henriette Valium (1959–2021), a comic book e-book artist and painter, and the winner of the 2017 Pigskin Peters award, for his e-book The Palace of Champions and the winner of the 2018 Albert-Chartier award, for his contribution to the sector of comedian e-book in Quebec. Valium was a multidisciplinary artist from Montreal whose eclectic various comics work was a pillar of the Montreal Comix scene who sadly handed a lot too younger. In the event you haven’t already, I might extremely advocate you learn the characteristic Marc Tessier wrote about Valium over at The Comics Journal.  It’s a near-perfect abstract of Valium and his work.

The primary award of the ceremony, the Egghead, honouring the perfect youngsters e-book, went to Cory Silverberg and Fiona Smyth for You Know, Intercourse, printed by Triangle Sq..

The second award of the ceremony, the Pigskin Peters Award, honouring the perfect small-press or micro-press e-book, went to Ivana Filipovich for her self-published comedian The place Have You Been?

The subsequent award of the ceremony, the Nipper, the award for rising expertise, went to Shelterbelts by Jonathan Dyck (printed by Conundrum Press).

The Awards took a while to supply a touching tribute to 2 cartoonists, Scott Carruthers & Mandy Kujawa, throughout an in memoriam phase earlier than shifting on to inducting Henriette Valium within the Giants of the North corridor of fame. 

And eventually, the Doug Wright Award for greatest e-book went to Geese: Two Years within the Oil Sands by Kate Beaton (printed by Drawn & Quarterly). This e-book has been making loads of waves and lately gained this 12 months’s version of Canada Reads, the primary time a comic book e-book gained this because the occasion’s begin in 2001. 

This 12 months’s Doug Wright Awards mark one other event to replicate on the colourful and numerous ecosystem of Canadian comics. We’d encourage you to hunt out the comics of every nominees. They’re all distinctive, difficult, distinctive and attention-grabbing work that’s well-worth your time.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here